Jon FX in full effect


Jon FX in full effect

Observer writer

Thursday, July 02, 2020

Print this page Email A Friend!

Platinum-selling producer Jon FX produced two tracks on incarcerated dancehall deejay Vybz Kartel's album Of Dons and Divas. They are Cute Rider (Reggaeton mix) and Stay With Me. The producer is also featured on the latter.

Of Dons and Divas was released on June 26 via Short Boss Muzik/Vybz Kartel Muzik. It features collaborations including Sikka Rymes, Lisa Mercedes, Lisa Hyper, Skillibeng, Daddy1 and Teejay.

Jon FX, whose real name is John Crawford, was born in Kingston. He also resided in Portmore before migrating to South Florida. He is best known for producing Gyptian's Billboard charting single Hold Yuh, as well as his other songs, including Nah Let Go, and I Can Feel Your Pain. He, however, has also racked up impressive credentials, producing, mixing and engineering songs for several reggae, hip-hop, dancehall and pop acts.

He currently serves as a governor on the board of the Florida Grammy Chapter.

Since its release, Of Dons and Divas has topped the US iTunes Reggae Albums chart for several days. Cute Rider has also held firm in the number one spot on the US iTunes Reggae Songs chart.

Jon FX shared his thoughts about Of Dons and Divas.

“This album is an introduction to an elevation of his music, that's coming in the near future,” said Jon FX.

This is not the first time that he has worked with Vybz Kartel. They previously collaborated on a remix of Gun Session by Akon and features Young Jeezy and Shabba Ranks, Royalty by XXXTentacion, Ky-Mani Marley and Stefflon Don, and She Love (which was featured on the Thunder Ball rhythm).

His other accolades include XXXTentacion's Jocelyn Flores (which has been certified platinum in the United States) and Arms Around You featuring Lil Pump, Maluma and Swae Lee (which reached number 28 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 2018).

He also produced I'm Yours, Sizzla's highest charting album to date on the Billboard Reggae Albums chart. It peaked at number two in 2017.

Jon FX is credited as writer and engineer on three tracks from rapper XXXTentacion's platinum-selling 2018 album titled ? The tracks are I Don't Even Speak Spanish LOL, A lone Part 3 and Smash.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon