Leon Bailey in Gold Cup provisional 40-man roster

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

Bayer Leverkusen's winger Leon Bailey has been named in Jamaica's provisional 40-man roster submitted to the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) for next month's 15th Gold Cup Tournament.

Newcomers Ravel Morrison, Daniel Johnson, Rashawn Dally and Jordan Scarlett have also been included, as Concacaf yesterday revealed the preliminary 40-player rosters submitted by the 16 participating member associations for this summer's tournament, which kicks off on June 15.

The 22-year-old Bailey, who plays in the German Bundesliga, refused numerous invites from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) over the last couple years, but has now made himself available to represent the country at the senior level.

Ravel Morrison, 26, is a midfielder of Swedish outfit Ostersunds FK. He was born in Manchester, England and started his career at Manchester United. He played for England at Under-16, Under-17, Under-18 and Under-21 levels, scoring three goals overall.

The much-travelled footballer also played at West Ham, Birmingham City, Queens Park Rangers and Cardiff City. Morrison was at one point at Italian club Lazio and Mexican outfit Atlas. He has already attained his Jamaican documents but was unable to take his place in the Concacaf Nations League qualifying campaign due to personal reasons.

Meanwhile, the 26-year-old Daniel Johnson was born in Jamaica but now plays for Preston North End as a midfielder. He previously represented Crystal Palace as a youth player before moving on to Aston Villa, Yeovil Town, Chesterfield and Oldham Athletic. Johnson has so far netted 26 goals for Preston from 148 games.

For US-based Rashawn Dally of FC Cincinnati, this is the second time the 22-year-old has been invited for the senior team, having represented Jamaica at the youth levels.

Jamaican-born Scarlett is a 23-year-old defender for the New York Red Bull II in the United Soccer League. He was drafted in the third round (61st overall) in the 2017 MLS Super Draft.

The 2019 Gold Cup will be the biggest-ever edition of the event, with more participating nations (16 up from 12 in 2017), more host countries (three, including first-time matches in Costa Rica and Jamaica, and more stadia (17 up from 14 in 2017, eight of which are in contention to become a 2026 FIFA World Cup venue).

The 15th edition of the continental championship will kick off on Saturday, June 15 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, with Canada and Martinique marking the start of Group A action. The second match of the day will feature a match-up between seven-time Gold Cup champions Mexico and Cuba.

As part of this expanded format of the tournament, Group B will debut in the tournament on Sunday, June 16, in Costa Rica's Estadio Nacional, marking the first-time the tournament is played in Central America. Costa Rica and Nicaragua will face-off in Group B's evening match, while Haiti and Bermuda will open the day's double-header.

In Group C, the seeded nation Honduras will travel to the National Stadium in Kingston to take on the Reggae Boyz, marking the first time the tournament is played in the Caribbean, while Curaçao and El Salvador will battle for early group dominance.

In accordance with the competition regulations, the submitted rosters will serve as the basis for the final 23-player lists for each team. The final 23-player rosters will be announced by Concacaf during the first week of June. After the official announcement, only injury-related changes will be allowed, up until 24 hours before each team's first match and any injury replacements must come from the preliminary 40-player roster.

Full roster — Leon Bailey, Kemar Bennett, Andre Blake, Javain Brown, Rennico Clarke, Rashawn Dally, Javon East, Junior Flemmings, Maalique Foster, Shaun Francis, Owayne Gordon, Michael Hector, Kevaughn Isaacs, Daniel Johnson, Amal Knight, Kevon Lambert, Kemar Lawrence, Andre Lewis, Damion Lowe, Adrian Mariappa, Alex Marshall, Darren Mattocks, Fabion McCarthy, Dwayne Miller, Ricardo Morris, Ravel Morrison, Shamar Nicholson, Dever Orgill, Keheem Parris, Alvas Powell, Ladale Richie, Jordan Scarlett, Tevin Shaw, Ajeanie Talbott, Jamoi Topey, Peter Vassell, Je-Vaughn Watson, Jeadine White, Devon Williams, Romario Williams.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon