Shelly, Elaine to lead Jamaica at Pan American Games


Shelly, Elaine to lead Jamaica at Pan American Games

Saturday, June 29, 2019

Print this page Email A Friend!

Five World leaders, including sprint queens Elaine Thompson and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, were named in a powerful 56-member team to represent Jamaica in track and field at the 20th Pan American Games in Lima, Peru, in early August.

The list that was released late Thursday night includes Fedrick Dacres the men's discus throw World leader and the fastest woman in the 100m hurdles Janeek Brown, as well as most of the winners from last weekend's JAAA Supreme Ventures National Championships at the National Stadium.

Men's 100m champion Yohan Blake and teen phenom Briana Williams are the only major names from the championships who were not included on the list of athletes to take part in what looks to be a final test for the athletes before the final team is named for the IAAF World Championships in Doha,Qatar in September.

A number of the athletes have still not achieved the qualification mark for the IAAF World Championships and the Pan Am competition will give them a final chance to book their tickets.

Three female sprint hurdlers were also named — Brown, Megan Tapper and Yanique Thompson — despite Sunday's controversial end to the championships and the voiding of the final.

The JAAA had since announced that the three women who would represent the country in Doha would be named after August 16 based on heir respective rankings on the IAAF ranking system.

Elaine Thompson won the sprint double in world leading times of 10.73 seconds and 22.00 seconds, respectively, last weekend, and along with Fraser-Pryce who also ran 10.73 seconds in the 100m, are expected to lead a powerful women's team.

Janeek Brown was prevented from completing the 100m hurdles final after two recalls, but ran 12.40 seconds to win the NCAA title in early June and will lead the hurdles crew into the championships.

Quarter-miler Shericka Jackson looks to be in the form of her career with back-to-back season-best runs in the first two rounds followed by a personal best 49.78 seconds, second best in the world then and will go into the championships as a medal favorite.

Jamaica will be well-represented in the women's horizontal jumps as well with Shanieka Ricketts, Kimberly Williams and NCAA champion Shardia Lawrence and long jump winner Tissana Hickling.

Dacres will be the gold medal favorite in the men's discus while Ronals Levy, arguably the best sprint hurdler in the country for the past few years, will lead the men's team.

Team: Males — Oshane Bailey, Devaughn Baker, Orlando Bennett, Akeem Bloomfield, Fedrick Dacres, Rasheed Dwyer, Andre Ewers, Javon Francis, Julian Forte, Demish Gaye, Tajay Gayle, Jaheel Hyde, Ronald Levy, Romel Lewis, Rusheen McDonald, Ashinia Miller, Kemar Mowatt, Clive Pullen, O'Dayne Richards, Adrian Riley, Andrew Riley, Jordan Scott, Traves Smikle, Shawn-D Thompson, Terry Thomas-25.

Females — Janeek Brown, Schillonie Calvert-Powell, Lloydricka Cameron, Rushell Clayton, Nayoka Clunis, Christine Day, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Jazmine Fray, Natoya Goule, Sashine Hanson, Tissana Hickling, Shericka Jackson, Shadae Lawrence, Shardia Lawrence, Anastasia Le-Roy, Shanice Love, Roneisha McGregor, Stephenie-Ann McPherson, Natasha Morrison, Chanice Porter, Ashia Prought-Leer, Shanieka Ricketts, Jonielle Smith, Megan Tapper, Danniel Thomas-Dodd, Elaine Thompson, Yanique Thompson, Natalliah Whyte, Rhonda Whyte, Kimberly Williams, Kimberley Williamson-31.

Now you can read the Jamaica Observer ePaper anytime, anywhere. The Jamaica Observer ePaper is available to you at home or at work, and is the same edition as the printed copy available at




1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus



Today's Cartoon

Click image to view full size editorial cartoon